Power Shorts!

Activity 7.1 

Attach and scan an advertisement that deliberately targets consumers by age or gender role. Discuss the effectiveness of the ad. 

There is no doubt in my mind that this advertisement is directed at younger men.  The imagery, the text and brand name are all directed towards men. Is it effective? Well in no way does this make me interested in buying shorts. Maybe I am missing something here but the advertisement just doesn’t speak to me nor does it convey a clear offer or sales message, the brand isn’t one I am aware of so I am lost!

Skins

I think the purpose of this advertisement is to build or hype the brand however I’m not really sure it’s memorable, clever, and certainly isn’t funny so by the time I flick this page over I’ll probably have forgotten it.

I’ve just re-read my scathing account of this ad, I am having real issues with why I dislike this advertisement so much. I have to know where this comes from?  A web search which reveals that this was created by M&C Saatchi Sport & Entertainment it’s artwork is by a Marvell comics artist. (I have always loved Marvel comics?) If I love Marvel why do I hate this advertisement, I should love it?

Supposedly this “draws parallels between comic book and superhero’s”.  Maybe this is part of the reason I find so much annoyance in this advertisement. The guys in the Ad aren’t superhero’s and in my mind are out of context so this sets up a series of conflicting processes for me.  And then it hits me…..I thought this looked extremely familiar.. Fantastic-Four-marvel-comics-3979715-1024-768The scene has been directed to look like any number of the many hundreds of front covers of  The Fantastic Four. It’s a complete ripoff!  Maybe this ad is effective for younger men who don’t have the comic book hangups or draw a positive association from it, but for me it hits all of my wrong buttons as for me it sits right in there with plagerism.

In summary effective for some maybe but not for me.

#yuck #wellthatsucks #M&CSaatchiscrewingwithmymind

Leave a Reply

